Remembering Matt’s Rainbow

Its been a tough day.  Matt went to his final resting place today in beautiful Crown Hill. At his memorial service, it was clear how much he impacted people’s lives and how many people valued his humor and friendship.

As this week concludes, I will always remember the double rainbow.

We were about to start our church meeting last week when another Matt came in and told us that there was an issue outside and  he needed Jordan’s help.  It was Matt T. and he was not in good shape.  He lived only a few houses away from the church and the other Matt and Stu found him in need of desperate help.

Matt did not make it that night.

While the medics did their best to help Matt, the clouds had darkened and a giant thunderstorm was about to roll into downtown Indianapolis.  It was strange.  The skies got dark but the rain held off. And held off.

It was only when the ambulance pulled away with Matt safely inside that the rain came down.

It was the hardest rain I have felt in a long time.

Shortly, we got word that Matt had died.  As our church council sat their stunned, the other Matt came inside the meeting room and said “YOU NEED TO GO OUTSIDE AND LOOK AT THE SUNSET. ”

The sky was amazing.  As we stood and watched the sun in the west, a double rainbow appeared in the east.

That night I went home and read the passage about the Noah and the rainbow

2 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. 16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

Leave a Reply

