“If you have a chance to watch the AFC Championship Game or go to church, you should watch the game”–John Wesley

I made that one up!

John Wesley actually said something like “if you have to choose between  visiting the poor or go to church, you should visit the poor.”

Oh well.

I showed up way late to church on Sunday night because I went over to a party to watch the AFC Championship Game.  This was only the second time that my beloved Indianapolis Colts have been able to host the game at home.  I have been a huge fan ever since we stole them from Baltimore in 1984.  I was 7 then.

As a progressive and an activist, my love of  the NFL l is a bit bewildering to other progressives and even myself.  There are many reasons to be critical of the NFL.  I get it.

In college  I argued with  my housemates because I wanted to watch the end of the Colts-Titans playoff game instead of participating in our hippie house potluck.  My excuse?  They were being east coast snobs!  As the only Hoosier living in the house (Earlham College’s Peace House, located in Richmond, Indiana), it was my duty to have solidarity with the working classes of Indiana.

Anyway, our church services start at 6:00 PM.  The super bowl starts at 6:00 PM.

What would John Wesley do?

Leave a Reply

